Join our email list

Rachel Podger and Brecon Baroque

Rachel Podger  violin
Sabine Stoffer  violin
Henry Tong  violin
Jane Rogers  viola
Alison McGillivray  cello
Jan Spencer  violone
Alex McCartney  theorbo
Marcin Swiatkiewicz  harpsichord and organ

Vivaldi  Sonata ‘Al Santo Sepolcro’ RV 130 in E Flat Major
Vivaldi  Concerto in G minor for strings RV 157
Vivaldi  Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro in B minor RV169
Vivaldi  Concerto for lute in D major, RV 93
Vivaldi  Concerto in D major Op 3 No 9 RV 230 (arranged for harpsichord after JS Bach’s solo transcription BWV 972)


Vivaldi  Antonio: Concerto No.1 for violin in E Major Op.8, RV 269 ‘La primavera’
Vivaldi  Antonio: Concerto No.2 for violin in G minor Op.8, RV 315 ‘L’estate’
Vivaldi  Antonio: Concerto No.3 for violin in F major, Op.8, RV 293 ‘L’autunno’
Vivaldi  Antonio: Concerto No.4 for violin in F minor Op.8, RV 297 ‘L’inverno’

In his day, Vivaldi’s reputation as a ‘freakish violinist’ sometimes overshadowed his renown as a composer. He is best known today for his enduring Four Seasons which unites both his virtuosity and vivid textural writing. Expect a fresh sound as Brecon Baroque, under the direction of Rachel Podger, breathe new life into the work.

‘Rachel Podger’s Midas touch makes even a warhorse such as Vivaldi’s Four Seasons sound fresh-minted.’ Sunday Times


Important information

Duration: c. 1 hour 45 minutes

Rachel Podger, Brecon Baroque

Vivaldi: Le Quattro Stagioni, Winter Teaser


Concessions: D/deaf or disabled, Full-time students, Go 4Less cardholders, Jobseekers, Over 60s, Under 18s 10% off tickets within certain price bands

Under 26: £7.50

Group rate: Book nine tickets and get the tenth ticket free

Essential companions: Any audience member requiring an essential carer/companion can get one free ticket. Relevant discounts or concessions still apply to the paid ticket.

Masthead image: © Theresa Pewal